Nail Art: Holographic Disco Balls

Is it just me or is it really hard to photograph holographic things? My mermaid nails finally gave up after nearly two weeks, or rather the nail art bits did, the gel would probably have carried on but I felt like a change so I decided to give these disco ball nails a go. Mermaid Gossip recently did a tutorial over on YouTube for holographic disco ball nails so I thought I’d give them a go. I decided to try them on an accent nail to start with as I didn’t really have the right nail art supplies and I am so glad I did as I really don’t have the patience for doing all.my nails like this.

I’ve wanted to try and perfect the ombre or gradient nails so decided to give them a go for the others, though holographic nail varnish is apparently not the best to use for that, and a bit of negative space nail art on my thumbs. I’m always worried my nails aren’t the best condition to try that so, as I don’t think this will be the longest lasting look as I can’t find my gel top coat so had to go with standard polishes, I thought now would be a good chance to give it a go and I’m actually happy with how it ended up.

As I said, I didn’t have the right glitter and the glitters suspended in nail varnish always seem to have a bit extra nail varnish so it’s a bit bumpy and I’ve already lost two sequins off one nail. It’s definitely itelt one that, if you want to give it a go, you need either the gel top coat or enough top coats to smooth the surface over. The top coat I’m using is from Zoya, I’ve never tried any if theirs before despite seeing them everywhere in blogs for the past few years so it will be interesting to try the two out that I bought recently. 

Another thing I’ve found, which it not so much a tip as possibly seeing if anyone has a better technique, is that old beauty blender style sponges seem to be the best thing for doing the gradient or ombre look. It may be that I used cheap sponges in the past and they’re something I should spend more on, but I tend to find that the ones I’ve tried for nail art just add texture I don’t want and don’t give such a soft gradient. Do any of you guys have a brand you’d recommend?

The products I used, unfortunately most of these seem to be discontinued but any holographic nail varnish should work:

Gosh 24 Hours One Night Only holographic nail varnish, ironically the one holographic one I have that normally lasts longer than a day. I used this for the tips, it dries too fast and didn’t work for the gradient part though

17 Holographic Nail Varnish for the gradient, a bit too thin and less opaque than the Gosh one so not great for the tips but great with the sponge

OPI I Snow You Love Me holographic glitter. I do love this at the moment though it has a tendency to loke out if the top coat and catch on things.

Zoya Armor Top Coat seems good so far, a thin formula that spreads well, will see how well it lasts.

I really like how these turned out, I definitely got the hang of the gradient more towards the end, the first nail or two have more of the holographic and less gradient. 

Leave a Reply

