Getting Motivated Again

Possibly a bit stereotypical with a field of wheat (or barley) but I like it and it has a link to the post, in a way.

To be honest the past three months have kind of gone in  a a bit of a  blur. With the operation and recovery I realised that recently I’ve lost some of the motivation I had. It started with the whole build up, feeling rubbish and then the four or five weeks where I was told not to do too much but it’s sort of stuck with me. I was so motivated, I have a list of posts I had planned to write and schedule for my recovery and I realised that I only ended up doing a few other them and then doing others instead and my whole organisation has fallen to the side. It’s not just my blog that it’s happened with but I know noticed I’d got down to 2 posts a week with not real schedule and it’s given me a bit of a kick up the backside to try and get my motivation back. 

There are a few ways I’ve found in the past that helped so I thought I’d do a post on it, we all go through patches like this so I thought it would be interesting to see if there are any of the things I do that you guys use to get back your motivation or if there’s anything you do that’s different that I’d never thought of. 

The first one is kind of a blog one, the rest aren’t really, they’re more general things. It does seem like a lot now I’m thinking about it but quite a few of these are so easy to do and when they’re set up they’ll be just there.

Get my blogging space back! When I started blogging I had my futon in the corner with my cushions and jewellery bits nearby and sat and did my blog writing there. It’s kind of become a dumping ground for things I don’t really have a place for so that’s getting a tidy and possibly some rearranging.

Have a clear out. This kind of follows on from that but I always find that having a clear out helps to kick start me. Whether it’s a whole room or just a box of bits that could be downsized it always helps me. I have a few things I should work in, including a box in my wardrobe that I have no idea what it contains and it might even be empty, so this is a great place to start for me to get me going.

Get organised! I feel I’ve probably done enough posts on this in the past but I do find that getting organised and having a schedule or planner really helps to keep me on track. I have an old cork board that’s been another spot for things like keyrings and business cards or random things I wanted to keep so I’ve tidied that and bought some blogging planner layouts from Etsy (I was going to make one but went for the quick fix) so I’ll print them and keep it updated. I’m also going to get back into my Filofax planner, I have nearly three empty months pretty much but I’ll do some work on that this afternoon.

Get a proper morning routine. This is often one of the first things to go when I’m in a slump. I’ve got back into my skincare routine a bit more and set an alarm. I’ve also found some good recipes for breakfast smoothies on the diet I’m doing to keep my blood sugar more level and doing those in bulk and just being able to pour it each morning is so easy.

Get back into the Low GL Diet properly. This fell to the side after the operation and, although I’m pretty much 75% sticking to it I want to get back on it properly as it really did help my energy levels and more energy = more motivation for me. To a point anyway. It’s hard to be motivated when you have no energy and your blood sugar is all over the place.

Do my nails. This probably sounds a bit odd but I always find that having my nails done and not all chipped makes me feel better. 90% of the time when I’m at home I have no makeup on but having my nails down makes me feel a bit more like I’m ready to work and do things. I am back the gel nails, they’re so easy and they survive everything including gardening and washing up, so that’s one thing already done. 

Catch up with favourite TV shows. Another possibly odd one but I’ve found I’ve fallen behind with some of the shows I like. It’s not really a big thing but sitting down and watching Criminal Minds, NCIS or the Bug Bang Theory, for example, was a great way to relax and when it’s new episodes I haven’t seen before it somehow is more refreshing. Plus having that relaxing time scheduled in gives me motivation to be stopped by then so I’m not thinking ‘I should have done X or Y’ when I’m having a break.

Get outside. Nothing huge, I don’t have the energy for it most days, but going for a walk once or twice a day with our dog, even for fifteen minutes, helps give me more energy so more motivation. I just have to try and tell myself to go even on the bad weather days.

I’m sure there have been more ways for me to get motivated again but these are the main ones I can think of. I realised that almost all of my recent posts are reviews and I miss doing some of these other post types. I do have some planned, and this time I will actually do them, as there are some I’ve been meaning to do since I started the blog but haven’t yet and it’s over two and a half years!

Anyway, I hope you liked this post, thanks for reading. Do you have any tips for getting motivated again after a bit of a slump? 

Leave a Reply

