Review: Soap and Glory The Rushower Dry Shampoo

therushowerheader.jpg

Soap and Glory recently released a dry shampoo, The Rushower, which is available in two different sizes. The smaller travel size, which is 50ml, costs £2.50, with the larger 200ml spray costing £4. Being a fan of Soap and Glory and always on the look out for a good dry shampoo I had to try it. At the time only the smaller size was available but I actually quite like this size, it’s perfect for throwing in a handbag or for travel.

The dry shampoo has the original pink scent, it has a bright citrus and slightly floral scent to me. It’s definitely very perfumey and it reminds me a lot of the Lsuh Snowshowers family of products, that’s a buck’s fizz type scent, for some reason. This dry shampoo has scent release technology that means there are particles that contain scent and the friction from running your hand through your hair is supposed to release the scent, meaning you get the scent a while after you’ve sprayed your hair making it smell fresher for longer. That’s the idea anyway so I was intrigued to see if that would actually work.

therushower2

The first thing about any Soap and Glory product that stands out for me is the packaging. This dry shampoo is no different, with the two toned pink striped background and the vintage style black and white image that makes it stand out as theirs to me. I like this look, it is one that I’d have out in the side of my bathroom. The black lid is a nice contrast but still goes with the black and white part of the design and, to me, makes it appear more together and more grown up that if they’d gone for a pink lid.

The spray itself is one of the things that can make or break a dry shampoo for me. You want a good spray and for it to cover your hair with a fine mist rather than being too concentrated in one spot. This spray does have a good coverage, though it does have that very forceful spray that a lot of dry shampoos have that I sometime finds puts me off as I feel I should be holding it further away. It isn’t too bad but I do prefer the ones that spray a bit more like a traditional hairspray. That’s all down to personal preference though as it does cover well.

The formula of the shampoo is nice and doesn’t give you that white powder look that a lot of dry shampoos do. It seems like the formula may be more like a hairspray in that it’s clear as I tried spraying in one point for a while and it didn’t give me a white powder look. I do have fairly light hair, it’s a dark ashy blonde, so I can’t say whether it would show up in dark brown or black hair.

therushower1

As far as the shampoo effect goes it feels really nice, it did mean I could have an extra couple of days before my hair needed a wash. It doesn’t dry my hair out too much, it felt nice and silky after using the spray, but did feel clean and less greasy even after I’d left it longer than I normally would just to try it. It removed the greasiness and made it less shiny without making it too fluffy and flyaway and left quite a matte finish to my hair to begin with which did disappear after maybe half an hour when it became shinier again but not in a greasy looking way.

The part of the formula that releases​ the scent later does work to an extent. I’d say the rest of the day and maybe the beginning of the next I did get the obvious scent when I brushed my hair or went through it with my hand. After that though I didn’t smell it, though the shampoo effect did last longer.

I don’t tend to use dry shampoo that often, especially outside of travel, so the fact the mini size is available to buy is great for people like me who didn’t necessarily want a big spray. I am a fan of the original scent but I know it is a bit overwhelming and not that popular with some people. If you like the Soap and Glory scent and want a dry shampoo to extend time between washes then this is worth checking out. Another bonus for The Rushower is that Soap and Glory are a cruelty free company so this is not tested on animals.

Overall I’d say this is a nice dry shampoo, it’s definitely one I’d consider buying again. At £2.50 and £4 for the two sizes they also aren’t too expensive so worth trying.

2 thoughts on “Review: Soap and Glory The Rushower Dry Shampoo

    • I do live that about it. I’ve tried so many dry shampoo and this is one of only two makes I actually really like. I would love it if they brought out more of a range scent wise though. I think it’s only been out a month or so, I’ve been seeing adverts on YouTube a bit for it recently but haven’t seen it in stores, just online so it doesn’t seem to have had a big release here yet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

