A Christmas Tag

A photo posted by Rhiannon (@thoughtfulpigeon) on Dec 15, 2016 at 1:44pm PST

I had all these plans for Christmas related posts and then life got in the way so it’s been just the advent calendar, I may have to do some of my more Christmassy reviews in the week between Christmas and New Year, that still counts right? Anyway, I saw this over on A Daily Dose of Holly and thought it looked fun, I haven’t done a tag in a while. I’ve seen a couple of others floating around so I might do another, is two tags in four days too many? I might do it anyway.

Hope you’re all having a fun time, whether you celebrate Christmas or not, and are managing to relax and enjoy it. I do love this time of year though it’s been a bit hectic this year and I finally got the hang of writing posts in advance and scheduling them, even if there was a slight hiccup where it accidentally posted the same thing three times simultaneously (still not sure how that happened!) On with the questions! And I know I’m meant to tag people but I never know who to tag so I tag anyone who wants to do this, and if you do please leave a link below, I love reading about other people’s Christmasses. 220px-santa-claus-movie-poster

What’s your favourite Christmas movie?

Santa Claus: the Movie, the one from the 80s with Dudley Moore and John Lithgow in it. It’s one we’ve watched every year as long as I can remember and it’s a bit of a family tradition. For years we had a video that missed the first few minutes and was fuzzy until you got ten minutes in because it was watched so often so now we have the DVD it feels odd seeing it all!

Have you ever had a white Christmas?

I guess that depends if you mean has it been snowy on Christmas day and white because of that, then yes. If you mean a white Christmas in the way weather people do then no, it’s never snowed on Christmas day where I live. Not sure if it has anywhere in the UK during my lifetime. Google seems to say 2005 but I don’t think it actually snowed then.

Where do you usually spend your holiday?

With my family at home, though we do go to Wales to see relatives and have a get together Christmas day is just me, my parents and my sister.

What is your favourite Christmas song?

This one is so hard, I do love Slade, Wizzard and Paul McCartney but I think I have to go with I Believe in Father Christmas sung by Greg Lake. I don’t even know why I love this song so much and it’s probably not a very popular choice for this. There are so many Christmas songs out there and I just love the cheesy pop ones in general but I always have to listen to this. If you haven’t heard it here’s a link to a YouTube video of it.

Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

No, though in the past we have had Christmas decorations as part of our presents and been able to open them when we decorate the tree, other than that it’s Christmas day.

Can you name all of Santa’s reindeers?

Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner, Blitzen and Rudolph. I’m surprised I remembered them all, I blame listening to and singing Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer too many times. Or possibly the Night Before Christmas, though Rudolph isn’t in there.

A photo posted by Rhiannon (@thoughtfulpigeon) on Dec 5, 2016 at 7:23am PST

 

What holiday traditions are you most looking forward to this year? 

I don’t know, I just love all the little family traditions we do, like watching certain movies or burning a candle we have in a holder my Nanna has that has the first verse of the night before Christmas on it, she died when I was little so it’s nice to keep doing things like that.

Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

We have both. We have a real one with all the nice decorations on it then a fake one full of all the things we’ve made over the years at school and the old decorations that may have been eaten by both dogs or are too heavy for the real tree to handle.

A photo posted by Rhiannon (@thoughtfulpigeon) on Dec 18, 2016 at 6:37am PST

What is your all time favourite holiday food/sweet treat?

Sweet things, probably after eights or Turkish delight. I do love them. As far as a proper dish goes I would say chocolate torte. We don’t have it every year but it’s one we make around Christmas time normally and then have small ones in the freezer for later in the year if they don’t get eaten. The last lot we made were a bit of a mess and didn’t turn out right but this year’s seem good so far!

Be honest, do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

I’m not sure I can choose. I do love picking presents for people and trying to find the perfect thing for someone but I like the surprise of getting a present and seeing what people have picked for me and sometimes getting things I wouldn’t have thought of getting myself that turn into favourites.

What’s the best Christmas gift you’ve ever received?

I don’t know which to pick. I love presents from family members who know me well and probably the longest lasting and most used presents come from them as they know what I like. One that does stand out to me though is one year I did a secret santa online and the person who had be bought me a Ducktor Who (Doctor Who rubber duck) which is pretty much perfect as I collect rubber ducks and anything Doctor Who. It was just such a thoughtful present that fitted me perfectly and I didn’t even know existed before then!

What would be your dream place to visit during the holiday season?

There are so many. I’d probably say the first place I’d choose is somewhere in Germany for a Christmas market. I know that other countries do them as well, and they’re on my list too, but having studied German for about ten years at school and learning about Germany and the traditions I’d just love to see it. It would probably end up being cramped and I know all the German I learned has probably fallen out of my head by now but I’d still like to visit anyway.

Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

I’d say I’m somewhere in the middle. Maybe I’d say I’m enthusiastic and I have a weakness for pretty wrapping things like ribbons. I love those ones you run the scissors along and they go all twirly and making my own labels from wrapping paper and old card. I think I mahve as much fun wrapping the presents as picking them!

A photo posted by Rhiannon (@thoughtfulpigeon) on Dec 18, 2016 at 6:37am PST

 

Most memorable holiday moment?

When we were little there were a few Christmasses where our parents made little scavenger hunts with clues for us to find a big present. I remember being in our pyjamas and following these clues into the garage and back into the house. I only remember a couple of the presents we got from them but the clues were so much fun. Or possibly waking up to find all the parts for a small shed had been left on a conveniently made concrete square that had been done ‘for a BBQ spot’ but Santa having left all the hard work for my Dad and Grandpa.

What made you realise the truth about Santa?

I don’t know, I think I just sort of realised it gradually, there was no OMG he’s not real moment for me. We still wrote letters to him and got replies in shaky hand writing years afterwards, it was part of our tradition that I kind of miss even though I’m 27 now!

Do you make New Years resolutions? Do you stick to them?

No, I haven’t for years as there’s only so many times I can say ‘learn to drive’ and it not happen due to health before it becomes a bit depressing to say it again. I guess I kind of have ‘become healthier’ and things like that but they’re not exclusively new year’s resolutions

What makes the holidays special for you?

.The feeling of Christmas, it’s like there’s something different in the air. Even when it’s all cramped and everyone’s rushing for Christmas shopping it still feels different. Also the preparation and lead up, everyone getting together to do things and hearing from people that you haven’t heard from in months (or that you only hear from in Christmas cards). I do love the traditions everyone has, different things that people do because that’s how it’s always been or it started when they were little and they just do it now as it wouldn’t be Christmas without it. I’ll stop now, can you tell I like Christmas?

Leave a Reply

