Advent 2016: Day 12!


I’m very happy with today’s advent calendar presents, the Marks and Spencer beauty advent calendar has a Look Good Feel Better Mini Powder Brush to add to my growing makeup brush collection. The Yankee Candle tea light today was Snowflake Cookie, a very sweet one but still one I use to sweeten others and the Ciate Mini Mani Month has a very sparkly Fortune Teller glitter top coat. I also think that the box for the Ciate one may be my favourites from the calendar, I just like the mini boxes in this year’s one and going to keep them for wrapping presents.


If you’ve been following me a while you may already know of my weakness for makeup brushes so today’s Marks and Spencer advent calendar present is a great one for me. It’s the Look Good Feel Better Mini Powder Brush and I think it may be the silkiest brush I own. The bristles are synthetic as its cruelty free and LGFB is a foundation who help people suffering from Cancer with practical support with visible side effects of the condition and treatments which I think is a really good cause so buying products from them also helps the charity. I have been looking at buying some of these this year from Boots but they seem to be out of stock fairly often, I didn’t think of checking the Marks and Spencer website but next time I will. I am looking forward to giving this brush more a try but so far I’m impressed as it’s soft but fairly dense so I can see if being a good one to apply a powder you want a fair amount of buffing or product applied. This is the mini brush but the full sized one is £13 so it’s probably mid range when it comes to makeup brushes with price but I’d say it was worth it with how soft this is as well as the charity and the cruelty free aspect to it.


Today’s Ciate mini is probably the sparkliest glitter I have with everything in it being holographic and it having a lot of glitter in there. It’s one of the standard formula and called Fortune Teller. I tend to find with glitter top coats there are two broad groups they fit into; one with half clear base and half glitter and you have to do a lot of shaking and be careful about placement and a second that has a lot of dense glitter particles and it’s pretty much a case of trying to make sure it’s spread out and not all in one place. This one definitely fits into that second group as you can see when I used it on top of yesterday’s colour. I do have a lot of holographic glitters so this isn’t exactly unusual for a Christmas set but it is a nice formula and density so I’m happy with it. His doesn’t seem to be in the permanent line as the only result on their website is the Mini Mani Month, though this is half price now so you’d be paying just over £1 per nail varnish which is a great price to me and worth checking out if you want an instant nail varnish collection.


I managed to smell a large jar of the Snowflake Cookie the other day when we were shopping for Christmas presents and I can confirm it is definitely stronger than these tea lights. Snowflake Cookie is a straight vanilla cookie scent which is pretty subtle in this tea light size and works really well as a sweetener for other scents if you want to add a bit of a vanilla scent to a single note candle. It’s available in a range of products but the only one still in stock online is the melt cups for their scenter piece burners. If you want this scent then check local stockists as it’s limited edition and it’s obviously selling out fast as it seems like it was in an offer when it was online.

Leave a Reply

