August Empties: My First Empties Post

sugust2016empties3.jpg

I realise I don’t really do empties posts, that’s mainly because most months I either forget to take photos of my empties (I may have done that with a couple of things this month too) or I just don’t finish off enough product sin a month to be worth doing the post. Most of the products I buy tend to last a long time and they get finished in dribs and drabs but this month it ended up that I finished quite a few things in one go so thought I’d do one. I do like reading these from other people, seeing what people actually would repurchase sometimes helps me decide if it’s a product that I’ on the fence about.

I was planning on combining my monthly favourites with the empties post but it got so long I’m doing it in two, I think the monthly favourites will be on Monday. There are some things in this post that I forgot to photograph, I’m not used to doing these posts. Maybe in the future I’ll keep all my empties and just do them when I get enough to be worth posting rather than setting it as a monthly thing. Anyway, here’s what I finished off this month and whether I’d repurchase them in the future and why. There are a couple of sample products in here but most of them are full sized.

sugust2016empties4

Skin Food Honey and Shea Butter Whipped Body Cream is the limited edition Snoopy one and I will admit that the Snoopy tub may have been a bit of a reason for buying it, plus finding good body butters is always good as my skin needs them. This was nice, it has a sweet scent and did moisturise well. I might repurchase it in the future, but as it’s a Korean product and hard to get in the UK I’d have to want other products from the site too. If it’s easy to find in your country and you need a good, thick body butter then this might be worth looking at. I did do a full review of it here if you want to see more about it.

Soap and Glory Sugar Crush Sugar Scrub is one of my favourite body scrubs and I’ll definitely be repurchasing this some time in the future. It’s got a refreshing lime scent and, although it’s got a fair amount of exfoliation in it, it isn’t too scrubby for my sensitive skin. It also doesn’t dry it out and it leaves it feeling soft and smooth which is great as I mainly use scrubs on my legs in the summer.

sugust2016empties5

Soap and Glory Glad Hair Day Shampoo and Conditioner are another two favourites from the brand for me. They work for my hair, despite saying they’re meant for fine hair and mine’s thick, but I’m not going to be repurchasing them straight away. I have found another shampoo and conditioner that helps my scalp more but I would definitely say these are worth checking out and I will be repurchasing them some time in the future as I love the smell and how well it works with my hair.

Fortune Cookie Soap Shampoo in Butter Cup was just a travel size as it came in the soap box and lasted one use for me but I did like it. It didn’t dry my scalp out and left my hair feeling nice. I won’t be repurchasing it though as it’s so expensive to get shampoo shipped from FCS when there are other products I would choose first as well as the fact I have my current shampoo and conditioner and the Soap and Glory ones easily available here in the UK.

L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream was a huge tube I got as part of a Christmas present and it has been well loved, I even ended up cutting it after this photo to get the very last bits out, but at the moment it won’t be repurchased simply because I have enough hand cream to last a year! It’s a great formula, I’d say it’s my favourite alongside Soap and Glory’s Hand Food, and the scent is a standard Shea Butter smell, not too strong. I do prefer the other scents in their hand creams but this is the original and the most moisturising, it also works great for feet and dry elbows or knees.

L’Occitane Verbana Shower Gel was one of the products in the M & S Advent Calendar last year and I’ve managed to make it last this long as it’s an amazing scent, just like fresh cut lemons with the zest and juice. I love this product and would consider getting it in the future, it’s just fairly expensive for a shower gel and I have a stash of body washes already. Maybe when my stash is lower or if I really feel like it I might get it in the future.

The main unphotographed product is one that I’m annoyed I forgot to do before it went in the recycling and it’s the Lush Comforter Shower Cream as it’s one that I had on the side and made me think of doing this empties post. I do love the comforter scent and the formula was great as far as moisturising body washes go but it went so runny so quickly it made it harder to use. Add in the fact that the shower or bath got bright pink spots if I wasn’t careful to wash it all down afterwards and I’d hesitate to buy it again. Maybe when my old shower gel is empty and if I don’t find a replacement I might when I really feel like having a Comforter scented body wash but I’d probably stick with a small bottle and use it quickly.

sugust2016empties2

The second one that I didn’t photograph when empty was the Simple Kind to Skin Cleansing Facial Wipes which I did review last month and have been using a lot. I actually have a second pack I bought at the same time, they’re the ones I photographed, and I think I would buy them again. I do prefer the plain ones or the ones in the yellow pack with mango in them, I think, but these ones do work really well when it comes to removing stubborn waterproof makeup better than they do.

The next empty is probably the oldest, or rather definitely the oldest. Years ago Lush used to do a range of three hair gels, the lightest hold of which was King of the Mods and smells like fresh lemons. It has been discontinued for a while, I want to say 2011 or 2012 it was last sold, and this one went out of date in 2012 but it’s carried on working well and I finally used the last bit up on Wednesday. I wish I could repurchase this, if I thought that any someone had in their stash was still good I might be tempted to search eBay even, but it was obviously getting old and had the consistency of blancmange at the end so I don’t think I’d risk it. I have their new Zest Jelly and it just isn’t the same, the scent is completely different, it’s stickier and it doesn’t hold like the King of the Mods does. If they ever bring it back in the kitchen (and I remember to check that week) I will be buying at least a couple of tubs of this, maybe even risking it and stocking up on more.

sugust2016empties1

The first of the samples is the Benefit the Porefessional Primer which I got ages ago in a magazine, probably last year some time. I don’t tend to wear foundation so I never used it much until recently so it’s lasted ages. A little does go a long way and it does give a smooth finish for your foundation to stick to so it does its job but it’s expensive and I don’t really need it that much, plus I have the prime and mix medium that I like and works as well for me. I’m also unsure on their current animal testing policy, I know they were a bit questionable in the past and think they sell in China (if I’m wrong I will happily remove this bit of the post) so I tend to stay away from them anyway unless they come in a magazine I want.

The Fresh Sugar Fig Tinted Lip Treatment has definitely been a favourite over the past couple of months since I got it and reviewed it. I have got to the point where digging around with a brush doesn’t get anything so I think I can safely say it’s empty now. I will definitely be repurchasing this one, whether I get it in the same colour or try something different I’m not sure but the formula is amazing and has helped my lips a lot. It does seem expensive but I think it’s worth it.

The second trial size I can’t remember where I got it from, it’s the Vichy Beautifying Anti-Blemish Care 24 Hour Hydration which sounded like a great product for me given my acne prone skin. It’s pretty light and it sinks in well. I did get two of these tubes which meant I had 6ml but they didn’t really last that long and I don’t think I had enough time to find out if they really worked or not. I didn’t get any breakouts but in the time I used it there wouldn’t be anyway, knowing my skin which either breaks out within 48 hours or after a few weeks. I guess it passed the 48 hours test but I have a skin care routine that works and it’s a bit expensive to buy in the off chance it works when I know mine already does. It might be worth looking at if you have tried a lot of other anti-blemish moisturisers but it didn’t seem any more special than a cucumber and something one I used to get from Boots for a lot less.

My No7 Instant Radiance Concealer is a go to in my makeup bag and has been for a couple of years. I first bought it when Elf stopped selling in the UK to replace their concealer palette and I haven’t looked back. I am definitely repurchasing this when I’m next in Boots as it’s the perfect orangey salmon colour for correcting the pigmentation under my eyes. It’s easy to use, blends in well and doesn’t change colour throughout the day on my eyes, weirdly it does when I swatch it on my hand though. I use the shade 01 which is great for my pale skin, I don’t think there’s much of a range colour wise but otherwise this is a great concealer for under your eyes.

Leave a Reply

