My Weekend in Wales

SWales2

I keep meaning to do some more bloggy blog posts but I hardly ever have anything to actually blog about so now I actually do I thought I’d finally get one done. I think the last one I did was probably around Christmas time, I will try to make sure the next one doesn’t have as big a gap in between.

This weekend we went down to South Wales to visit my grandparents, it’s been a while since I’ve seen them and we had a bit of a road trip with my sister and mum. I live in the midlands in England and pretty much the furthest point away from any coast you can get in the UK so it’s also nice to get to go to the beach and, for the first time in ages, the tide was actually out when we went.

SWales5

Something beauty related in this post, I thought I’d include it in case anyone is interested, but the August edition of Marie Claire with Blake Lively on here in the UK has a Benefit Ready, Set, Brow! included as its free gift. It’s their invisible shaping and setting gel for brows and I think it’s the full sized version so it’s worth picking up the magazine if you want to give this a go. For the £3.99 the magazine costs it’s a pretty good price for a Benefit product. I think it’s the only products available though there are a few new ones in the Benefit brow product range. I don’t really do much with my brows but I’ll be having a play around with this and seeing how well it works.

One thing we didn’t realise before leaving for this trip was how much was going on in Cardiff this weekend! I wish we’d planned to be there on Friday for the Welcome Home Wales thing as I would have loved to be on the streets of Cardiff for the open top bus. Apparently there was also a Grand Prix thing going on and a Cardiff Festival so we didn’t pick the best weekend when it comes to empty roads!

SWales4

‘Sunny’ Porthcawl, though it doesn’t look as cold here as it actually was

 

As the trip is three hours we ended up leaving fairly early in the morning and getting there not long after lunch, I’m still recovering from the earlier starts than I’m used to and we did more in those two days than I think I’ve done in ages so it’s to be expected and worth it to visit and spend time with them rather than just resting all the time. The weather wasn’t great but it actually felt like summer, which is odd considering it’s been hotter and less cloudy at home sometimes recently, but I think it’s the combination of the beach and the sort of holiday feel that helped.

 

We ended up sitting on the front in Porthcawl with an ice cream and then heading down the road to wander on the beach. We did have a bit of a poke around in some of the rock pools and saw some fish and crabs, I don’t think I’ve done that in years. It’s odd how doing things like that can take you back to when you were little and climbing around on the rocks looking for things with a bucket and net. We used to do that every holiday, I think we enjoyed that more than swimming in the sea or doing anything on the beach half the time.

SWales1

Another thing I found with this trip is how much I love one of the skirts I have. I have had it for a couple of years now, I bought it from TK Maxx and it’s by Dolce Ragazza who I have never heard of outside TK Maxx but I really like it this year. It’s got a silk layer and then a soft under skirt and it’s so stretchy and floaty at the same time. It’s the perfect one for travel as it’s really comfortable for in the car but at the same time you can just roll it up in your bag for packing and it goes small and doesn’t matter if it’s creased. If they ever had these again I’d buy at least another one as they were a good price at the time and I just love it. I can’t remember why I didn’t wear it much before but it’s going to become a favourite this summer especially as it doesn’t blow up in the wind, unlike a lot of my other skirts and dresses.

The trip itself wasn’t all that eventful but it was fun, it was short but it was nice to see my grandparents and seeing them reminds me how little I actually do get to see them and that I should try and go more often when mum does. Seeing relatives get older always reminds me how we don’t know how much time we have with the people we love so we should make the most of it when we do. I always end up coming away feeling happy to have seen them but sad that we don’t see each other much and not knowing when I’ll next see them. I’ve always liked that our family is fairly spread out in that visiting always ends up becoming a bit of a holiday but as everyone gets older I wish we lived closer together so we could visit more often and not having it be such a big thing to get there if they need us for something.

SWales3

Time for a game of spot the crab

 

As my sister has been home for the past week or so we’ve ended up playing some of our old board games, totally unrelated to the rest of the post but do any of you guys get out old board games from when you were little? We’ve played a Barbie one, one from The Little Mermaid and we’ll probably end up playing Don’t Wake Dad! These are more things that just bring back memories, it’s odd how easily they take you back to things that happened when you’ve forgotten about them the rest of the year.

Having done this post I realised how few photos I took, I have quite a lot of family ones which I don’t tend to put on my blog. I need to get better at this in the future, just stick my camera in my bag and take photos of everything. I even missed the Welcome to Wales sign that I have photographed pretty much every time I’ve gone past it the past few years. I will get better at these blog posts one day.

Anyway, I hope you’re all having a good time and that the weather’s been good for you wherever you are. I’m hoping that if it gets hotter here it isn’t going to be too humid, the heat I can deal with but the humidity just makes all my symptoms worse. Have a good rest of the week and weekend.

Leave a Reply

