January Favourites: First of 2016

janfavs1

The first monthly favourites of 2016 and I’m still writing 2015 in every time I have to write the date, it’ll take a couple of months for me to get that right. This is kind of a December and January favourites because I didn’t do one for last month as I was still recovering from Christmas and by the time I was going to do it it was a couple of weeks in and not long till this one. This is another big mix though I think there’s more beauty stuff in it this time than I often do.

I have been watching a few other things I’ll put in here but they’re not ones I have on DVD. I think after Christmas and watching Santa Claus the Movie I got into a bit of a Dudley Moore phase and ended up watching a lot of his movies so I’ll include one in here, Arthur is just so funny and one I’ve already seen twice this month. I also really liked Arthur 2, I know that’s probably not a popular opinion but it was harmless fun, not as good as the first but still pretty good. TV wise I’ve loved the new series of Endeavour, I love the Shaun Evans and Roger Allam combination and the characters and stories are great as a detective show and being a young Morse but without trying to be too much like him or trying to copy John Thaw.

One more thing to put in here is a game I’ve been playing a lot, well two, one is Neko Atsume which has probably been posted about on Twitter by pretty much everyone. You basically collect cats in this little garden by putting out different items, it’s free and you can do it without spending any money in game and still collect a lot of cats. The second is Don’t Starve, specifically the Shipwrecked DLC which I did a review on, though it should probably be first impressions as I have found a few new tricks and things in the world since then.

janfavs4

Onto the things I have actually photographed and I think almost all of it is beauty related in some way which makes a change. The first thing is the Sugar Crush Body Lotion from Soap and Glory which is part of the whole Sugar Crush range. This smells really nice and fresh, it’s a lime based scent that’s bright and refreshing and works great as a wake you up kind of scent. I have, I think, everything in this scent range but I’ve been using this the most. It sinks in so quickly and you need so little, I use two pumps for each arm and three for each leg and use it every day. The scent does linger for a bit but it’s not overpowering so it’ll be fine to use with perfume. This 500ml bottle costs £10 which is pretty good for the amount you get and it’s often in a 3 for 2 offer in Boots.

The Fleur de Figuier hand cream by Roger & Gallet was one I got in the Marks and Spencer advent calendar and loved it, I have been using it a lot since then and it’s nearly finished. It’s a sweet and slightly floral scent and does smell of fresh, very ripe figs. It’s a scent I think I’ll be getting other things in, I’d quite a like a perfume in this smell, but the hand cream is amazing as a formula in any of the scents. It sinks in pretty quickly and leaves your skin feeling soft rather than greasy or having that film some hand creams do. My skin isn’t too dry but in the winter it does sometimes crack and this hand cream was good and rich enough for my skin, I’m not sure it would be if your skin is really dry though.

janfavs7

Another thing from the Marks and Spencer advent calendar was the Leighton Denny Renovate Nail Repair Cream. I have used this quite a few times and do really like the formula. It sinks in well, smells pretty good and it does leave a nice water resistant and shiny finish if you use the buffer that comes with it after using the product. I haven’t really noticed a huge difference with ridges but the quality of my nails has improved and they’re less flaky.

janfavs5

The Laboratoire Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water is one I kind of wish I didn’t like as much, I was torn whether I would include it in here or not as I know in the past they have not been the best with animal testing. I do love this product and it works really well with my skin but I will definitely be looking for another brand that is cruelty free. I think that Laboratoire Garnier is probably cruelty free now in Europe as it has to be to be sold but I’m not sure and would rather buy from one with a longer history. This was £1 in Boots and my parents bought it for me as they saw it so I’ve been using it and it’s a great product type for days when I don’t have much energy and a better alternative to face wipes for makeup removal and evening face cleansing.

The Dr Organic Snail Gel Facial Serum is one of the products I got in the Christmas sale from Holland and Barrett in a gift set and I have been very impressed with it. I was always intrigued by Snail Gel products but was a bit put off by not knowing how the gel was actually extracted. Dr Organic has an explanation where the snails move over glass panes and this is then harvested, turned into powder and refined for use in these products. This one works so well with my skin, it keeps it nice and smooth and soft and moisturised without being too rich. It’s also unusual for a serum, at least in my experience, in that it’s like a very thin cream rather than an oil or clear liquid. It sinks in easily and has a nice lemony scent due to the lemongrass. I’m going to do a proper review of each of them products but I wanted to put this in here as I’ve been using it every day and so far it’s impressed me.

janfavs6

There are three makeup things, one of them is definitely an old favourite that’s sat in a drawer and only recently resurfaced though it’s probably well past it’s best before date. The Elf Mineral Foundation SPF 15 in Fair is from years ago, probably four years now. I love how this matches my skin tone really well, which was unusual when I bought this as my skin is too fair for a lot of the larger companies’ lightest shade. This is light and easy to apply, doesn’t get all cakey and does last well especially on top of BB cream or CC cream. I’ve tended to use this almost as a finishing powder on top of my face before I do my eyes to add a bit of extra coverage but not having it as my main foundation.

The Sleek i-Lust Palette in The Gold Standard was not a palette I thought would be appearing in a monthly favourites post. I do like it and thought I’d get a lot of use out of it but I didn’t think it’d be one that turned into a go to for me. I suppose I should be more specific and say it’s the cream eyeshadows in this that I’ve been using quite a bit as eyeliners, they dry well on top of eyeshadow and stick well in place. Margiela in particular is great as it’s a slightly darker colour and I’d say it’s probably a metallic taupe or warm mid brown, it does shift slightly in the light. Louis does give a nice brighter look and is good for under the eye to brighten it a bit.

I definitely thought that the Balm Jovi palette by theBalm would become a favourite because it’s so pigmented and there’s a great range of finishes in there. My go to look over the festive period and so far this year uses quite a few of these colours. For my Christmas and evening look I use a combination of Adagio, Allegro, Iron Maid-In and Alice Copper. For my everyday look I found that I use Adagio, either Iron Maid-In or Blink 1982 and either Allegro or Moderato. I haven’t used the other products so much but I have used the Don’t You Want Me blush a bit. This is definitely going to be one of the palettes I go to for a range of colours, at least in the near future, and I am so glad I got it. I just wish I’d bought it sooner, I think I’d probably have saved money on a few other palettes I’ve bought that I don’t like as much and this is replacing.

janfavs2

The two piece of jewellery are Christmas presents. The ring is sterling silver and made with two different coloured pearls, it was £30 in a local shop that sells handmade jewellery and I have no idea about the make of it. I don’t think the necklace had a name brand on it but I wore it on Christmas day and I love how it reminds me of the 30s for some reason. I like the way it starts as one chain and then becomes four beyond the diamonds. There’s a bit of sparkle in the diamonds but it’s not too much and it’s pretty subtle.janfavs3

I hope you liked this post, I like seeing what other people include in these as it shows what you actually use rather than just reviews of things that you don’t touch afterwards (at least I know I’ve been guilty of that in the past). Was there anything you found or rediscovered this month? I think January seems to be a month where we find a lot of new things, maybe it’s the new year and trying new things but I’ve been noticing more in the shops when I’ve been that I haven’t tried as products types that I want to give a go. Anything you’d recommend that’s new?

Leave a Reply

