Advent 2015: Day 22

Processed with Moldiv

The Marks and Spencer calendar has another skin care product, I’m quite pleased with the others so far and as this is from Ren, a company I’ve used some samples from and liked, I’m definitely giving this a go. It’s the Ren Flash Rinse 1 Minute Facial in a 15ml tube which I think should give it a few uses. I have never heard of this product before so I’ll have to see how well it works. The Yankee Candle advent is a tea light in the scent Christmas Garland which is a nice, pine based scent which is pretty strong so it’ll be one I don’t burn the rest of the year but so far the others I’ve got in this scent have all been burnt and I really like it. I wasn’t sure how much I’d like this one and was mainly focussing on the cinnamon based ones and the fresher smells when I bought it but it’s definitely grown on me and I’m considering buying one next year if the do it, or maybe just another advent calendar.

Processed with Moldiv

This Ren Flash Rinse 1 Minute Facial costs £32 for 75ml on the M&S website which is more than I’d spend on face products but if this really works I might consider it. This smaller sample is one fifth the size of the full sized product so I guess this might last more than I expect as I didn’t get much on my hand and that would probably cover a quarter of my face. The product smells pretty good for a face product, it smells of orange, or probably more like the sort of mandarin or clementine scent you get in shower products as it’s slightly sweeter rather than the fresh orange smell you get. This is probably because it says there’s vitamin C, which I am guessing are the small grains that are in the gel, that you release when you massage it.

As the tube warns against using it if you have sensitive skin I tried it on the back of my hand first and it’s a very weird product to me, it’s not quite an exfoliator when you apply it but it’s a thick sort if gel with grains that feel like sand. It does go pretty far though I’m not sure I’d want to be spreading it on my face too much. When you dampen your fingers to massage it in and release the vitamin C it gets a lot thinner and all of the grains disappear so it’s easier to spread. It feels a bit sticky until you wash it off but it did leave my hand feeling nice and smooth afterward. I’m going to give it a go on the insides of my arm a couple of times before trying it on my face but I think the main thing that’s going to affect my skin’s sensitivity is the graininess rather than an ingredient.

Processed with Moldiv

The Christmas Garland scent has definitely grown on me, it’s fairly strong but it’s a nice fresh pine scent with a hint of something sweet though I don’t pick it out as cranberry, maybe it stands out to others more. I often find that with pine products they smell a bit too much of cleaning products but this doesn’t have that smell to me, it’s closer to the Nordman (I think that’s what it’s called) fir we have, rather than the sharper traditional green firs. I will have to burn this tomorrow before my sister gets home as she’s allergic to fir trees but I’m definitively burning it. This scent doesn’t appear to be on the website but I think they’ll be available in stores with Yankee stands or Yankee Candle stores. The scent is available in range of products but the tea lights are £6.99 for a box of 12 full price, I have seen some of the Christmas scents in offers on the UK website before they disappeared so that might be something that’s available not only online but in physical stores too.

I am planning on doing a bit of a round up for both of my advent calendars, either Boxing Day or maybe nearer to new year so I have a chance to really give the products in the Marks and Spencer advent calendar a go and make sure my first impression is right and give the skin care a proper try.

Leave a Reply

