Advent 2015: Day 20

Processed with Moldiv

In the Yankee Candle advent calendar there was another Cinnamon Stick tea light, it’s a great Christmas scent but very strong so I have to feel like burning it but they’re all getting burnt. The Marks and Spencer advent calendar had a small bottle of Verbena Shower Gel by L’Occitane, this is a scent I’ve been wanting to smell properly since I heard about it a few years ago. I’ve had a few L’Occitane products in the past though it’s been mainly around moisturising and soap rather than very scented products. It was one of the products that I was looking forward to trying it when I saw it on the product list.

 

Processed with Moldiv

The Verbena Shower Gel is in a 75ml bottle and it looks so nice as it’s a mini version of the larger bottle and has the Verbena leaf embossed in the side. The full size 250ml bottle is £14 on the Marks and Spencer website which is expensive for a shower gel to me but I do really like this so it might become something I buy as a treat. The bottle itself is going to be kept after it’s empty, though if haven’t worked out if you can completely remove the lid to refill it.

The shower gel itself is pretty thin, it’s easy to pour and it doesn’t matter that it’s not the easiest bottle to squeeze to get a thicker product out. The scent is amazing, to me it smells exactly the same as when you cut into a lemon and you get the smell of lemon zest as well as the sharper scent of the middle of the lemon. I used it today in my shower and it’s very scented and you don’t need much especially when you use a shower puff. It needed the shower puff to really lather a lot but I always use a puff anyway. It’s not drying which is good for a clear shower gel as they are often less creamy and moisturising. I wouldn’t say it was particularly moisturising but it didn’t dry my skin out so I consider it a positive.

Processed with Moldiv

The Cinnamon Stick Yankee Candle scent has become one of my favourites, it’s very strong though so I have to feel like the scent to burn it, if that makes sense. It’s a very Christmassy scent to me as it’s pure cinnamon and cloves which are standard winter spices. It can be a bit overwhelming in a small room even with a tea light so larger candles could be very strong, it’s one I’ll be looking at next year and possibly getting a small jar of or just a box of tea lights. The scent itself is available in a range of products but the tea lights come in a box of 12 for £6.99, though I can find it on the website I think it should be available in stores that sell Yankee Candle products.

Leave a Reply

