Advent 2015: Day 18

Processed with Moldiv

I like today’s M&S gift and it’ll definitely be going into my box of travel sized bits as it’s a small Crabtree and Evelyn La Source Moisturising Soap. It’s a nice enough smell but the main reason I live it is the size, it’s great for travel so I’ve used it and left it to dry before it goes back in its box. The Yankee Candle tea light today is another Icicles candle, which is a nice light winter scent so I’m happy to get as many of these in the calendar as possible as it’s one of the more different scents that doesn’t mainly smell of Christmas spices.

Processed with Moldiv
Until fairly recently I had never tried anything from Crabtree and Evelyn, I don’t know if it’s just been a company I haven’t seen around or if they’re suddenly more popular in the UK as before that I think I’d only really heard of them on Friends. I can’t find these on the Marks and Spencer website as it says they’re no longer available, but on the Crabtree and Evelyn UK website they have three 100g soaps for £15, the one I have is 25g so it’s probably worth just over £1, still a nice little soap though. It has Shea butter in it which is normally good for my skin and it’s definitely not a drying soap, which can be a problem with bar soaps for my skin. It’s not the best soap when it comes to lather but it does leave your hands feeling clean so I’m not that bothered about a lack of bubbles. The scent is just like a generic soap scent, there’s nothing in it that I can pick out really and it reminds me of the sort of scent you’d get in a soap you get I a hotel room. Overall it’s a nice enough soap but nothing all that special apart from the fact it doesn’t dry out my skin. Not one I’d buy again but it’ll get used.

Processed with Moldiv
The Icicle scented tea light is one of my favourites in the calendar as it’s a more subtle scent than a lot of them. It’s not obviously Christmassy either, there is a hint of pine but it’s a light scent and reminds me a bit of a wintery version of a fresh cotton type scent. It’s one of the more different scents as a lot of the others are warm spice scents and this is something a bit different. It has a decent amount if throw but it’s one that’s a background scent. I can’t find it in the website at the moment but Icicles is available in a range of products and the tea lights normally cost £6.99 for a pack of 12.

Leave a Reply

