Review: Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eyeliner in Black Amethyst

stilasmudgestick4

I’ve had this for a while and wanted to review it but for some reason I haven’t got round to it yet. I got the Stila smudge stick waterproof eyeliner in one of the Latest in Beauty boxes, I think it was some time last year. I’m not all that confident with eyeliner so don’t wear these darker colours very often but I have had a good play around with this one to give it a proper go. I’ve heard a lot about the Stila smudge sticks on YouTube so I was hoping this would be a good product and I don’t think I was disappointed.

This waterproof eyeliner is available in a few places but I think the two in the UK are Boots (£13) and the Stila website (£14.50) though I have seen other Stila products available in Marks and Spencers so this may be available at some time in there, it’s just not there now. This is in the colour Black Amethyst which is a dark purple with some shimmer in it.

stilasmudgestick1

I really like the packaging for these, the colour of the pencil is the colour of the eyeliner and it’s the twist up kind that means you don’t have to use an actual sharpener. I have never had a problem with the eyeliner middle breaking with this kind of packaging unlike some of the more traditional pencil ones.

stilasmudgestick3

The angle shows the purple up a bit better, the thin line is one stroke, the thicker one has been gone over a couple of times

The eyeliner itself is really soft, it goes on easily and if you’re quick enough it does blend well. It doesn’t take long to dry and once it has it’s hard to get rid of. I love the colour, it’s a dark purple though it could almost be a black base with dark purple or plum shimmer so the look is very dark but not as harsh as with a black. I would probably use it with neutral eye looks and it’s not obviously purple in most lights so could have a similar look to a brown eyeliner that’s a nice dark line but not too harsh. Blending it out does make it more obvious that it’s shimmery as the shimmer seems to blend further than the base.

Rubbed without water

Rubbed without water

I tested the waterproof claims with this, both just splashing it and rubbing it when wet. The first swatch just shows it after rubbing it without water so it does show it has staying power as I rubber pretty hard. The second picture shows the same swatches after they had been rubbed with water so it’s not even just splashing as that had very little impact and there was no obvious running after holding my hand under the running water.

Rubber with water

Rubbed with water

Overall I would say that this is a very good eyeliner, at least the kind that I’m looking for. It’s very soft so there’s no drag when you use it on your eyelids and the staying power is pretty impressive. I don’t think I would use it on my waterline due to the shimmer in it but for a general eyeliner it’s nice. As I said I’m not that confident with getting my eyeliner close to my eyes and my hands tend to shake quite a bit due to my ME so I don’t use these darker colours much but I think it’s one that if I do want a darker colour I would definitely consider getting these in the future.

This feels like a bit of a short review but I’m not sure what else I could say about an eyeliner, any questions I can answer though, leave them in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

