The British Tag

I love how they made the bird house and little birds. I didn't manage to get the zebra tied to the zebra crossing but he's still hanging on after a few weeks of being there

I love how they made the bird house and little birds. I didn’t manage to get the zebra tied to the zebra crossing but he’s still hanging on after a few weeks of being there

I went into town today as our dog needed to go to the vet for his annual check up and the knitting was still there so I took some photos. Unfortunately I didn’t take my camera but hopefully a camera phone photo will do. I know it’s not a specifically British thing to knit things for trees and pillars, and probably wasn’t even started in Britain, but I liked the idea and it sort of goes with the slightly quintessentially British thing of being slightly ‘odd’ as shown in a lot of American programs I’ve been watching.

I saw this post over on Every Word You Say and it made me smile so I thought I’d give it a go. I love some of her answers, good to know there are other people out there who grew up on Woolworth’s pick ‘n’ mix! 🙂

How many cups of tea do you have a day and how many sugars? Milky tea I have one big mug a day, one of those big coffee mugs of tea in the evening with one or possibly one and a half sugars. I also have fruit teas so sometimes a couple of them and with maybe a teaspoon of sugar or some honey in, especially if I have chamomile.

Favourite part of the roast dinner? We don’t have them all that often, though I think my favourite bit is the roast parsnips, I could eat so many of those. Or if it’s Christmas then possibly the pigs in blankets. This is making me hungry now.

Favourite dunking biscuits? I love dunking chocolate digestives, they’re so gooey and chocolatey but anything plain is good too, or custard creams or bourbons, but chocolate digestives are the best, probably because I hardly ever dunk them.

Favourite quintessentially British pastime? Oooo this is hard, I really don’t know. Does watching Doctor Who count? Maybe walking in the rain if that counts too as it’s so rainy here it’s got to be a past time right?

Favourite word? Probably squish, I’m not sure why, it’s a fun word to say. There are a few fun words to say but now I’m thinking of actual words it’s very hard to rank them. I do also love onomatopoeia because it’s fun to say and is also very hard to spell (thank you autocorrect).

Cockney Rhyming Slang? Am I meant to say what it is or say my favourite? I’m not sure so I’ll go with favourite maybe. I don’t really use it, though maybe ‘loaf’ like ‘use your loaf,’ as in in loaf of bread for head. I don’t know, I like how many words there are with so many meanings in rhyming slang but I just feel wrong using it like I’m trying too hard.

Favourite sweet? Fruit Salads, also love Black Jacks. I would probably have said Dolly Mixture until recently when I had some of the mini fruit salads and they were so good. Actually a lot of pick n mix or ones that used to be penny sweets are good.

No. 1 British person? I’m not sure what makes someone a number 1 British person so I’m just going with the Britishness of someone, which surprisingly is a word according to Word (but not WordPress). There are so many I could put in here, I feel like I should be saying someone like Stephen Fry or maybe someone like Benedict Cumberbatch or David Tennant or Tom Hiddleston or one of the others that fills the pages of Tmblr but I’m going to go with David Mitchell.

gif is from giphy, no idea of original creator but can add you if there's any way of telling. Also feels a bit odd using this quote but of the ones I could find on google it seemed the best and most complete.

gif is from giphy, no idea of original creator but can add you if there’s any way of telling. Also feels a bit odd using this quote but of the ones I could find on google it seemed the best and most complete.

I’m not sure why but he seems to be so British to me, this may also have something to do with the fact I’m currently watching Peep Show and have watched quite a bit of Would I Lie to You recently but still, he’s great. He’s got the awkward don’t want to be noticed thing and the indignantly angry way of arguing especially on QI or Would I Lie to You and I’m not actually sure indignantly is the right word there as I’ve removed and retyped it so many time it’s just looking weird now.

Favourite shop/restaurant? The old newsagent type shops where they still have jars of sweets behind the counter that you can pick things from. There’s not really a chain but I love those shops. Or possibly an old fashioned sweet shop as that’s just the sweets and nothing else on any of the shelves (I have no idea of names of these but they’re popping up everywhere at the moment).

What British song pops into your head? Nowhere Man by the Beatles, simply because it was playing a minute or so ago and it’s stuck in there. Pretty much anything from the Yellow Submarine actually, it’s like a medley in my head at the moment.

Marmite? So good, as long as it’s on something like toast or crackers, on its own it’s a bit weird and I don’t think I want to try the chocolate though it is oddly tempting if they still do it. I love twiglets though so that’s the best way of eating it even if they do look a bit weird. I’m the only one who likes twiglets so I get a whole tin/jar/whatever the packets should be called at Christmas to myself.

I hope you guys enjoyed this, and I’m currently realising exactly how many British people I can think of. That question was so hard, I feel like I should go away and make a list of British people I can think of that can be number 1 British person and I’m still not sure what categories should be used for that.

If any of you want to do this then feel free, I’d love to read some of your replies, especially that one about number 1 British person, how do you choose that?

Leave a Reply

