First Impressions: La Roche Posay Iso Urea Body Milk

larocheposay1

As long as I can remember I’ve always had these weird bumps on my legs, they look a bit like I’ve got permanent goose bumps, which always annoyed me a bit. It’s less the way they look, which has got comments asking if I’m cold, and more the fact that with things like shaving I always used to catch them no matter what I tried and I’d have these red dots all over my legs from it. It’s only been the past few years that I found out that it’s actually from an excess in keratin that your body produces to fight infections and this blocks hair follicles and creates these hard bumps and it’s called Keratosis Pilaris if you want to look it up.

There are a few different things recommended, I think salicylic acid like you get in a lot of acne treatments is supposed to help so people recommended some face washes and lotions, some people find that being in the sun seems to reduce them, and then I found a recommendation for the La Roche Posay Iso Urea cream. I was using a Soap and Glory product that they don’t do any more that was made for cellulite which worked but as that was discontinued and none of the replacements seemed to work so well I thought I’d give it a go. At £20 in Boots it was more than I would normally pay for a skin cream but as it’s a 400ml bottle and seems to get good reviews for I thought I’d give it a go.

The fact that it includes urea seems to be the main problem that I’ve found people have when asking questions online about it, it’s the sixth ingredient on the list so pretty high up there though it doesn’t include a percentage for it. It’s not something that bothers me but if it’s something that puts you off then maybe try one of the other products, there are quite a few suggestions if you put Keratosis Pilaris into google.

This post is mainly a first impressions type post, I’ve only been using it a few days so no real results but I thought I’d do a sort of before and after impressions, though my before photos haven’t really worked and look a bit odd I’ll include one here.

I never realised how hard it is to photograph a knee before and not have it look weird

I never realised how hard it is to photograph a knee before and not have it look weird

The bottle itself isn’t the best looking to me, it’s a bit clinical, but then the company is about good skin care and the physical benefits rather than one that focuses on looks or scents so I’m not that bothered by it. It’s not one I’d have out on my bedside table but it doesn’t put me off buying it. It says it is recommended for sensitive, dry and flaky skin in adults, on the body, flakiness and that it’s suitable for people with psoriasis. I have flaky skin anyway so I’ll also see if it helps with that. I found quite a few good reviews about it helping very dry patchy skin so if it helps with that anyway I might be sticking with it. It says to use it once or twice a day, so far I’ve been using it once but if I don’t see much of a result I will up it to twice, I just don’t seem to need it moisturising wise. The front of the bottle says that this is paraben free which is probably important for something designed for sensitive skin and I know a lot of people look for that in products anyway at the moment.

The cream is a fairly middle consistency, it’s nice and easy to use and the pump action actually gives enough for me to do the top or bottom half of my legs with one pump which is a plus rather than having to press it a lot. The cream scent is hard to describe, it’s one that has a sort of powdery smell, it does include parfum in its ingredients but I can’t put my finger on what it is, maybe something slightly floral but a pretty generic scent. It’s not something that I would think of as offensive to anyone, it’s powdery clean scent and it doesn’t actually last that long on my skin. The texture of it when it’s on your skin is a bit weird to me, it’s almost as if it’s left a powdery film on there, like there’s some sort of barrier but it’s not at all greasy and my legs actually feel really soft and silky when I’ve used it. I’m not sure what does that but it does mean I tend to use it at night rather than the morning as it’s not something I’m used to yet. Also as it doesn’t have any SPF I wouldn’t have felt protected enough against the sun just using this in the morning and I don’t tend to use a moisturiser under sun creams as my skin doesn’t like the excess moisture.

As far as moisturising goes this seems really good to me. I often use a body butter as a lot of lotions I have to use twice a day (sometimes more if my skin is playing up) so having something that feels so thin and I wouldn’t expect to keep my skin smooth as long last throughout the day after I put it on the night before really surprised me. The slightly weird film does go after a while but it took an hour or two when I tried it in the day.

One thing I will say about this, do not use it within a few days of epilating or waxing your legs if you do either! I tried it the first time three days after, which I thought would be long enough as I often use perfumed body butters a day or two later, and it stung so much and just made my skin look all red and blotchy which was not a good look. I was a bit worried my skin had reacted to something in it until I left it a couple of days and tried again without the same result. Because of this I’m not sure how true the test will be in the summer while I do my legs but I want to give it a go anyway as it’s the main time of year that I notice it. I’ll give it another go in the cooler months if this test fails just to give it a proper chance but I wanted to try it now anyway.

So far I’m pretty impressed with this, I can’t say about the small bumps yet as it’s not been long enough though I think there may be a bit of a difference, they don’t seem as obvious to me but this may just be wishful thinking as its only been four days. Though it’s definitely working well as a moisturiser for me. If it works well for my dry patches I might keep it anyway and just use it every so often as for £20 if it doesn’t reduce the look of the bumps then I don’t think it’d be worth it for me to use daily when I can use others in the days between using this.

3 thoughts on “First Impressions: La Roche Posay Iso Urea Body Milk

    • Hi, thanks for reading. At the moment I can’t say I’ve had any real improvement using it but my KP is only really there in the warmer months so I’m giving it another go this summer as I’m unsure if it’s because of other products I’m using. I haven’t given up on it yet as I’ve heard some people get great results but I haven’t found the right combination for me yet. I meant to do an update post last summer but, as there wasn’t much to report I left it. I’ll try to remember to do a before and after style one this year over a month or two. Sorry I’m not much help 🙂

      Like

  1. Thanks a lot. I can’t seem to find that particular formulation in my area but do see others. By summer my kid should have exhausted the line he is on, and if there is no improvement (which is what I am thinking) we will start on this line. You’re right, though, it is expensive! Thanks, again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

