20 Beauty Questions

Today has just been one of those days where I haven’t got anything I planned to do done. I should learn not to try and plan things after acupuncture, it just doesn’t end well. Anyway, I wanted to post something today and love doing tags so went in search of one that I haven’t done, which isn’t all that hard as I don’t think I’ve done many of these at all. I like reading other people’s tags and answers to these kinds of questions, somehow it makes it more like you learn something about them more than with reviews.

I found this on The Life of Kristyn so thought I’d do it. I’m not tagging anyone in particular but if you want to answer them too then I’d love to read your answers 🙂

Do you remember your first makeup item?
I used to have those cheap makeup palette things with lip gloss and bright sparkly eyeshadow when I was little, I don’t think I ever used them on me, it was more my dolls. As a proper makeup thing it was a set, like a makeup travel box, that came with lipsticks, mascara, eyeshadow and pretty much everything you’d want. It was by technic and there used to be a store near us that sold a lot of their products, I’m not sure if Technic are still a company, it might be fun to revisit some of their products if they are to see if they’re as bright and pigmented as I remember.

Describe your perfect mascara. Have you found one that fits your specifications?
No clumping, has a plastic brush rather than one of those with the more fibre ends, goes on thin enough that it just colours the lashes and doesn’t wear off throughout the day. Waterproof is good but not something I need. I love the No7 Extravagant Volume mascara, I’d say that’s come the closest.

What kind of coverage do you prefer from foundation?
Light, possibly medium, I hate the feeling of actually feeling like you have foundation on so I tend to stick with BB creams mainly.

Favorite high-end brand?
Is the Balm high end? I’ll go with them anyway because they’re more expensive than I normally spend on makeup

What cosmetic brands have you always wanted to try but still haven’t?
Tarte, Kat Von D and Laura Geller

Favorite drugstore brand?
Probably Sleek or MUA at the moment

Do you wear fake eyelashes?
No, I can never get them to look good, though I do want to learn, it’d be nice to be able to wear them on special nights out but I don’t think I’d ever wear them regularly.

Is there any kind of makeup you can’t leave the house without?
Not really, I go out of the house without makeup fairly often. I’d say probably the closest is under eye concealer, I’ve had comments on how tired I look or how I shouldn’t have stayed up so late if I don’t and it’s just easier to use it sometimes.

What is your most cherished beauty product?
I’m not sure I have one, maybe my Urban Decay Vegan palette as I regularly use three of the colours and I think it’s been discontinued.

How often do you shop for makeup?
Maybe twice a month on average, though I can go months without buying any then make a few orders online. I rarely buy makeup in store, I tend to look in stores then find the best deal online when I know the colours I want. I often get makeup when I’m making an order for other things like face wash or nail varnish and sneak a couple of bits in my basket.

Do you have a “beauty budget” or you spend freely?
I have a budget for fun things in general and beauty falls under that though I do sometimes go over it’s pretty rare. I don’t have one specifically for beauty though.

What type of product do you buy the most of?
Eyeshadows, mainly palettes though I do sometimes get a few loose pigments from shiro cosmetics, I’ve not really got any from other companies since finding them.

Do you avoid certain ingredients in cosmetics like parabens or sulfates?
Not really, though I probably should pay more attention to that

Do you have a favorite place to shop for makeup?
Does online count? A more specific thing is probably Superdrug, I do like Boots but at the moment Superdrug have more brands I’m interested in, it’s a pity they’re never in stock near me, or they are in stock but have been played with.

Do you like trying new skincare products or do you keep a certain routine?
I try to keep a routine but I do like trying new brands, if I do then I keep everything else the same just to see how my skin reacts with it. I normally do this when my old product has run out though and I’ve read about something that’s supposed to do it as well and is easier to get, better for the environment or cheaper.

Favorite bath and body brand?
This is hard, my stash of bath and body things is probably too big and I have quite a few brands in there. I love Enchanted and Fortune Cookie Soap so probably them, though if it was just shower gels then Treaclemoon would win hands down

Do you like multifunctional products like lip and cheek stains?
Not really, I find they work for one or the other but not both for me, I am always tempted by them though so I might find one I like eventually

Are you clumsy in putting makeup?
I guess I probably am, I don’t want everything to be perfect really and I’m pretty quick when I get ready, I’d rather get ready in ten minutes and have it look good to me than half an hour and have it all perfect.

Do you ever consider taking makeup classes?
Not really. I like playing with makeup and doing it my way, though I do use youtube quite a bit to watch I tend to play around and see what I like with trial and error rather than following step by step instructions.

What do you love about makeup?
How everyone has a different way of doing it, different products they like and the huge range out there. I like how it’s kind of a way of showing your personality or mood, like choosing your clothes or shoes.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this, any tags you think I should check out? I do like doing them and would probably do them as an extra post if I do them in the future rather than in place of one like today.

2 thoughts on “20 Beauty Questions

Leave a Reply

