Review: Superdrug’s Calming Facial Sheet Mask

calmingsheetmask1

If you read my last post on my Superdrug purchases then you will have seen I bought a few of their sheet masks just to see what they were like. They’re in a 3 for 2 offer at the moment and cost £1.29 each. I’ve seen a lot about sheet masks from Asian beauty brands but haven’t seen any in the UK, so when I saw these on the site I had to get them.

This is the Calming Facial Sheet Mask, it says it’s a cleansing formula and contains green tea, cucumber and aloe vera juice. As these are fairly calming ingredients that I know have worked for me in the past and it says for all skin types I thought this would be a good one to start with.

The instructions are fairly clear; cleanse and dry your face then apply this for 5 – 10 minutes before removing, massaging in any residue and splashing your face with cold water afterwards. I’m not sure how this compares to other brands but it seems pretty standard for theirs as all three of the masks I have have these instructions on the back.

calmingsheetmask4

When opening the pack the main thing I noticed was the smell; it’s like a facial cleanser I used to use years ago. I think the main scent is aloe vera though it really reminds me of those wet hand wipes you often get, not the lemon ones but the ‘unscented’ kind. This was reinforced by the way the product looks when I took it out of the packaging. It’s just like a wet wipe material and is fairly well soaked in the mask mixture. It does seem a bit soapy as it has quite a few bubbles on it when I unfolded the mask but I’m not sure if that’s just an effect of unfolding the mask as it was so tightly packed.

calmingsheetmask3

Using the mask was easy, definitely easier than a normal mask where you have to spread it around, though it doesn’t really fit my face well, it was a bit too big and the top was over my hair line. I felt a bit like I should be some kind of villain in a superhero movie with the mask on when I saw the picture, though it did feel nice and relaxing. I had to keep on moving the mouth hole up as the mask really did not taste nice and the bit between the nose and mouth was on my lips. I did keep having to press the mask down if it shifted but it wasn’t too bad, maybe three times in the 8 or 9 minutes I had it on.

'actual product may differ slightly to the image on the package' this does not look as relaxing as that picture did! Kind of feels like a Halloween mask

‘Actual product may differ slightly to the image on the package’ this does not look as relaxing as that picture did! Kind of feels like a Halloween mask

Removing the mask was simple, it wasn’t stuck to my skin at all and I massaged the residue on as it said and splashed it with cold water. Immediately after my face didn’t feel that different but about 15 minutes later when I felt it it was definitely smoother and softer than before I used the mask.

It’s now 8 hours later and, although I do like the affect it has on my skin overall, I do seem to have a few spots breaking out on my skin which weren’t there before. I do often have this sort of problem when starting new skin products so I’m not that surprised. I would say that, although this says it’s for all skin types, if you have problems with spots this may not be a good one for you, it has definitely moisturised my face and the calming ingredients would help to calm skin but it’s a bit too moisturising (to me anyway) if you have acne prone skin. I’ve got acne prone skin but I normally have to use dry skin products which seems a bit counterintuitive but it works. Fairly high up on the ingredients list (which you can find at the bottom of the post, sorry I forgot to photograph it) is hydrolysed oats, which I now realise may be the problem as I sometimes find oat based face masks can have this effect on my skin and make my acne flare up.

Overall I am very impressed with this; it has left my skin feeling nice and smooth and has actually calmed the dry patches I had on my skin. Unfortunately I do have a few breakouts afterwards but I won’t mark it down too much for them as I know my skin. If you want to try a sheet mask then I think this range from Superdrug is probably a good place to start if you’re in the UK or a country where they’re easily accessible (I don’t know where Superdrug sells besides the UK at the moment). I will say though that these would be too expensive for me to use regularly as they suggest on the back. I’d choose one of the tubes with multiple uses if I wanted a more regular face mask but these are nice for a bit of a change and some relaxation.

All of the Superdrug’s own brand products are cruelty free which makes these a great way to try a sheet mask as I’m not sure on a lot of the Asian brands, it seems hard to find their status when it comes to animal testing. If you know somewhere that has a good list of the companies that don’t test on animals I’d love to read it, I haven’t found one yet.

Ingredients: Aqua(Water), Glycerin, PPG-1-PEG-9 lauryl glycol ether, Hydrolyzed Oats, Glucose, Sodium citrate, Parfum, Chondrus Crispus, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) leaf juice, Citric acid, Sorbitol, Cucumis sativus (Cucumber) fruit extract, Ascophyllum Nodosum extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) leaf extract, Glucose oxidase, Lactoperoxidase.

4 thoughts on “Review: Superdrug’s Calming Facial Sheet Mask

Leave a Reply

