Advent day 5

IMG_1361-0.JPG

Today’s product was a ‘meow’ by Katy Perry solid perfume locket. Having seen this product on the list on the back of the box I think it was one of the things I was most interesting to open as I haven’t seen it in stores and was curious what it would be like. I’ve heard of perfume pockets but never owned one and have quite a few solid perfumes so was interested how this would work.

The box it comes in was a lot bigger than I was expecting and inside was a simple black pouch wrapped in pink tissue paper which I will be rescuing. I could smell the perfume already which seemed like an encouraging sign. The locket is also a lot bigger than I was expecting and not something I would ever wear as jewellery myself but does hold the perfume well. The lid twists open and is held shut by a magnet and although the solid perfume appears loose it does not fall out when tapped or held upside down. As the scent can be smelled outside the locket I think it works as a perfume locket to be worn especially as it warms up against the skin and you can always dip into it to apply a bit more if you want something a bit stronger.

The perfume itself smells like a fairly generic sweet or floral scent on my skin. It doesn’t stand out much but I couldn’t get much out to try as it was very hard. I’ve had this problem with other solid perfumes and have had to use the end of a spoon or my fingernail when they get hard so this is a general problem with this kind of product unless it’s in a twist stick.

The scent notes I could find are:
The fragrance opens with notes of tangerine, pear, jasmine and gardenia; the heart are honeysuckle, lily of the valley and orange blossom, while the sweet base features aromas of amber, vanilla, sandalwood and musk.

To be honest I don’t get many of those scents at all, I think what I’m mainly getting is a combination of vanilla and honeysuckle which is a fairly nice scent but nothing complex. I’d say it’s a nice summer or spring scent and something you might wear in the day, at least how it’s gone on my skin.

I could not find this anywhere for sale besides sites like eBay where it’s selling between £4 – £6 so not sure where else you could try if you wanted to buy it.

Leave a Reply

